2015 the Bookrack.


cropped-cropped-dscn8018.jpg
book shelf

Narasimha Sharma Veturi, would like the know the books we read in 2015,

Well Narasimha, one has to be very careful with books, for what’s inside them has the power to change us. Now that you have asked, and for God forsaken reason I am replying,.. Without checking if this is a major question, or minor questions. The length and presentation of the answer would depend on the marks right.

If I were in a shop window or a library I would have promptly identified the cover with the titles that I was reading. Now I follow this visual trail, forcing my way through the rack past the thick barricade of books I am yet to read, these books were frowning at me from the tables and shelves, trying to cow me. but  I took a deep breathe, ensuring I am not going to be awed, that among there extend for acres and acres the books, I needn’t Read, neither do you, the books made for purposes other that reading , book read even before we open them since they belong to the category of books be read before being written. And thus having passed the outer girdle of ramparts, but then I get attacked by the infantry of books that If I Had More Than One Life I Would Have Certainly Read, But Unfortunately My Days Are Numbered. With a rapid manoeuvre I bypass them to move into the phalanxes of the Books I Mean To Read, But There Are Others I Must Read First, The Books Too Expensive Now And I’ll Wail Till They’re Are Remaindered, The Books, Ditto When They Out In Paperback, Books That I Can Borrow From Somebody, Books That Everybody’s Read So It’s As If I Have Read Them Too. Eluding these assaults, I must come up beneath the towers of the fortress, where other troops are holding out.

  • GALF 2014
    book stal

    Books that I have been planning to read for ages.

  • Books that I’ve hunting for years without success
  • Books I want to own so they’ll be handy just in case
  • The books I need to go with other books on my shelf.
  • Books that fill me with sudden inexplicable curiosity, not easily justified.

Now that I have been able to reduce the countless embattled troops to an array that is to be sure, very large but still calculable in a finite number, but this relative relief is then undermined by the ambush of Books Read Long Ago Which It’s Time To Reread And Books, That I’ve Always Pretended To Have Read And Now It’s Time To Sit Down And Really Read Them.

I like best to have one book in my hand and a stack of others on the floor beside me so that to know the supply of poppy and mandragora will not run out before small hours, yet I also realize that books are the ultimate dumpees, put them down and they’ll wait for you forever: pay attention to them and they always love you back.

DSCN8085[1]
book shelf
Like Sir Francis Bacon put it — “Some books should be tasted, some devoured, but only a few should be chewed and digested thoroughly.” 

As for the book I read they are all listed on www.kitabikida.wordpress.com.

2 thoughts on “2015 the Bookrack.

  1. “one has to be very careful with books, for what’s inside them has the power to change us”- Beware of Books.Great writing skill and equally good contents on your blog.

  2. Nicely written…we all have different choices when it comes to picking books. The price is no constraint for some while others rummage through seconds in the hope of locating some literary gems. One may go by the reviews, a friend’s advice or even the blurb while choosing a book..so each one to his/her own !!

Leave a comment