The pick me up book.. Unreal elections.


jaipurSince the crab came calling I made a bucket list, I did not really pay attention to it, until the crab handed the baton to near fatal accident now that I have started moving back to normal life, One of the things on that list was being sponsored to Jaipur literary festival. Well I have participated in the Goa Literary and art festival, and to me, it was a cross between school and church, there were no actual festivities what was there was a lot of public readings.

You want me to write about my favourite book, well, one favourite does not suffice, by the time one gets to be 50 which is what I will be in an year, we keep adding favourites. Our favourite book, is always the book that speaks most directly at us at particular stage in our lives. And lives change. We have other favourites that gives us what we most  need at that particular time. But we never lose the old favourites. They’re with us. we just sort of accumulate them.

So I have the most favourite or to quote my daughter favoritest book. it is not just the book, but also the blog that I wrote reviewing it, that counts as these are few of favourite things..  The book is titled unreal elections; it is a political satire by C.S.krishna and Karthik Laxman.

The American President’’ (to quote Harry.S.Tuman) has to take all sorts of abuse, from liars and demagogues… the people can never understand why the president does not lse his supposedly great power to make them behave. Well the president is, is a glorified public relations man who spends his time flattering, kissing and kicking people to get them to do what they are supposed to do anyway. The same goes for the Indian prime minister.  Yet 2014, saw a war for the thankless job.

Though elections belong to the people, and it’s their it’s their decisions. If they decide to turn their back on the fire and burn their behinds then will just have to sit on their blisters—observed Abraham Lincoln, yet for the first time in Indian history we had a war room scenario and strategy planning face-off and god knows what.

The captures all the drama, and creates a spoof on it.  so I shared it on my blog  https://kitabikida.wordpress.com/2014/10/18/more-real-than-real-reporting/

The blog is very special as it opened the doors for me to bond with other people who wanted to read Indian writing that was not sloppy romances. I had readers suggesting books read, writers sending their books for reviewing.

To me, this book heralds the coming of age of the Indian Writer. Along this lines are Durgadas Sampath’s Mrs. Farmer and Mr. Consultant, Anupama Sharma’s Railonama and Anuradha Goyal’s The Mousecharmers In the order of my favouritism.

Leave a Reply

