Listing listlessly


cropped-cropped-dscn8018.jpgRain drops and roses and whiskers and kitten, blue satin ribbons and warm woollen mittens

These are a few of my favourite things….

Ten favourite books well though this is a much flogged horse I shall list them just so that I maintain the check on my check list.  I love books, I review them at the rate of one a week. Most of them are technical books, reference books, before bed I read a few pages of fiction. What really knocks me out is a book what when I am all done reading wish that the author was a terrific friend of mine I could call her up on the phone whenever I felt like it. well it didn’t happen for a while.

I assume that the lady here wants to know about fiction.. well

  1. Five Go Out On An Adventure—by Enid Blyton, my stepping stone into the adult world of novels. It took me a month to read it.
  2. Law O’the Lariat by Oliver Strange that introduced me to the world of cowboys and wild west. I even tried speaking like one.
  3. Galahad at Blandings – that introduced me to P.G.Wodehouse, Empress of Blandings and his dry humour. Annapurna Alladi seemed to be only one who enjoyed these other than me.
  4. The Chimneys – by Agatha Christie – has been comfort reading since. Though the first book of Agatha Christi that I read was Mysterious Mr. Brown.
  5. The Citadel by A.J.Cronin that dealt with the changing socio-political environment of England
  6. Conversations with God was the book that made me look into non-fiction other than Dentistry books.
  7. Revolution from within Gloria Steinem a book that I empathize with.
  8. Govinda by Krishna Udayshankar, for sheer unique way of retelling the Mahabharata with meticulous study and putting it into a time line. . https://kitabikida.wordpress.com/2013/11/25/a-bard-retells/
  9. Wind of Hastinapur by Sharat Komarraju for his unique presentation of the women of Mahabharata..  https://kitabikida.wordpress.com/2013/12/29/whispering-winds/

There are unacknowledged Mills and Boons ,Denise Robbins, Daphne du Maurer, Barbara Cartland  I guess this is one of the standard prompts,Next time someone asks for a list of favorite books, I can list  a exclusive list of Romantic Books, for the one after Mystery books, then some self help books, finally comics and graphic novels. 

At the end of the day  “A great book should leave you with many experiences, and slightly exhausted at the end. You live several lives while reading.” 
― William StyronConversations with William Styron

4 thoughts on “Listing listlessly

  1. I don’t know some of the authors, but nice. Have u listed them in ascending order since childhood or ascending order of preference? Or is it descending order?
    I tend to like more than 1 book from an author, like Fountainhead and We, the Living by Ayn Rand.
    So I have a list of 10 fav authors, but 10 books is too narrow a zone.

Leave a Reply

