The secret of the nagas


The secret of the Nagas
Author: Amish Tripati
Published by: Westland ltd.
ISBN: 978-93-80658-79-7
The second in the trilogy promised by Amish, I have not the read the first one, but this has inspired me to read it.
Calling an amarachitra katha induced thriller is also belittling the author’s craft. Though I guess that is the nearest identification that our generation that grew on amarchitra katha can give it.
Amish has beautifully demystified the mythology making it very interesting. If I were to call it a mythological thriller I would be ignoring the imparting of philosophy.
Amish has definitely understood the ancient art of storytelling, in the tradition of Vishnu Sharma and Dandin, of dispensing philosophy and politics through the vehicle of trendy story telling.

The author has presented the legend of  Shiva-Sati along with Daksha,Kali, and Ganesh very craftily and compellingly.
I am definitely looking forward to reading the third book The oath of the Vayuputras.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s